The Stories That Matter Most To The Utah Lacrosse Community

2013 U-15 Boys National Team Announced

ULA U15 National Team LogoFor Immediate Release – Utah Lacrosse Association
February 19, 2013 – The boys 2013 U-15 Utah National Lacrosse Team has been selected. This year, more than 120 players from all over the state of Utah gathered at the Spence Eccles Indoor Facility at the University of Utah Saturday, February 9th for the first tryout. Fifty-five of those players were invited back this past Saturday for a final tryout at the Park City Basin Recreation Center, and after two extremely competitive sessions the roster has been trimmed to the best 24 players the State has to offer. This year’s turnout was the largest yet, surpassing last year’s total of 80 players. The turnout was incredible and the amount of different schools representing, and the level of competition, was the best on record according to the coaches and talent evaluators.
The 2013 Utah National U15 team will be coached by Walker Bateman (Olympus), Matt Evans (Copper Hills) and Tyler Monteath (American Fork). Bateman is returning to the coaching staff after assisting the 2012 team. The team is comprised of players from 14 different schools, ranging from the 7th grade to the 9th grade. Only 1 player returned from last year and several schools placed a player on the team for the first time in our four year history.
Due to the large number of tryout participants, and how competitive the tryouts were, the ULA decided to create a practice team of players that will be age eligible again next year. With a farm-system in place, and the 2013 team ready to start practicing, the future of Utah Lacrosse is extremely bright.
The boys National Team will compete at the 2013 U-15 National Championships in July at the ESPN Wide World of Sports facility in Lake Buena Vista, Florida. This year marks Utah’s fourth year competing for the title. The National Championship tournament is hosted by ESPN and US Lacrosse to showcase the best U-15 talent in the country. Utah will also be fielding a girls U-15 National Team to compete days before the boys tournament for their National Championship. Try-outs for that team will take place later this spring.
2013 Roster

Player Position School Grade Player Position School Grade
Maxwell Asay Attack Alta 9 Christopher Belcher LSM Lehi 8
Cole ‘Bubba’ Fairman Attack Brighton 9 Cameron Folkersen LSM Brighton 9
Douglas Gosselin Attack Judge 9 Keaton Eyring Defense Park City 9
Andrew Karner Attack Weber 8 Josh Hales Defense Park City 8
Beau Pederson Attack Park City 7 Zachary Hamel Defense Bonneville 9
Josh Stout Attack Lone Peak 9 Tate Merrill Defense Spanish Fork 9
Griffin Seifert Defense Park City 9
Dallin Dixon Midfield Alta 8
Gage Fisher Midfield Olympus 8 Sheridan Buchholz Goalie Park City 9
Hunter Horsley Midfield Logan 9 Oliver Martin Goalie Waterford 9
Ryan Lunt Midfield Olympus 9
Justin Pickard Midfield Park City 8 Walker Bateman Head Coach Olympus
Nolan Richard Midfield Herriman 9 Matt Evans Head Coach Copper Hills
Dallin Bentley Mid/Attack Bingham 9 Tyler Monteath Asst. Coach American Fork
Matthew Everton Mid/Attack Herriman 9 Bryan Frates Special Asst. Skyline
Zac O’Neal Mid/Attack Park City 9 Jeff Brzoska Special Asst. Park City

1 comment
Related Posts