The Stories That Matter Most To The Utah Lacrosse Community

Colorado State, Utah Win RMWLL Titles

Ute Womens Lacrosse
2014 RMWLL D-II Champions – Ute Women’s Lacrosse

The Colorado State Rams and Ute Women’s Lacrosse team won the RMWLL D-I & D-II titles respectively on Saturday at the University of Utah. The Rams beat Westminster, 17-13, and Utah beat Utah State, 26-9.
In the first game of the day, Utah dominated from start to finish, being led by Laura Hunter who had 6 goals and 2 assists. Katie Baker finished with 4 goals and 2 assists, while Heather Hunter had 5 goals. Goalie Megan Wilson had 6 saves. Utah State was led by Cassidy Grizzle who had 4 goals. The win gave Utah the RMWLL D-II Championship for the second straight year. Utah will look to get back to the Championship game where they lost to JMU in 2013.

Ute Womens Lacrosse
2014 RMWLL D-II Champions – Ute Women’s Lacrosse
In the D-I Championship game, defending RMWLL and WCLA champion Colorado State beat Westminster in a great game. The Griffins grabbed an early lead but the Rams fought back, ultimately making the score 5-2 with 18:38 remaining in the first half. Westminster would score two goals to bring the score to 5-4, but that was the closest the Griffins would get as Colorado State pulled away and ultimately came away with the win. Westminster never quit, always hanging within 4-5 goals. Dana Barraco led the Griffins with 4 goals and 1 assist.
2014 RMWLL D-I Champions - Colorado State Rams
2014 RMWLL D-I Champions – Colorado State Rams
The WCLA National Tournament will be in Virginia Beach, Virginia. D-I will feature a traditional 16-team bracket with 8 automatic qualifiers and 8 at-large bids. D-II will feature 12 teams, 7 of which will be from the conferences automatic qualifiers and 5 at-large bids.
In D-I, Towson Club (MAWLL), Oregon State (NWWLL), Florida Club (SWLL) and Colorado State (RMWLL) have punched their ticket to the tournament. Westminster will need to get an at-large bid in order to be in the tournament.
In D-II, UNC Club (MAWLL) and Gonzaga (NWWLL) join Utah as teams who have already punched their tickets to the tournament. The teams will be ranked and put into four pools with three teams with the No. 1 team from each pool advancing to the Semifinals.
For more information about the WCLA National Tournament, please visit the official website.

Related Posts