The Stories That Matter Most To The Utah Lacrosse Community

Holland Midfielder of the Year; Nine Griffins Honored by RMAC

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference named Josh Holland from Westminster the Midfielder of the Year as the conference announced the 2016 men’s lacrosse major awards and all-conference teams on Tuesday.
Holland was also named First Team All-RMAC at midfield as he was joined on the first team by his teammate Thomas Sarjeant who was selected at attack.
Westminster, the co-champions of the regular season in the RMAC, had another five players named Second Team Al-RMAC. Cole Flinders made the team at attack with Tanner Duryea and Nathan Wade being named at defense. Jake Berard made the team as a faceoff specialist and Elias Fairman was chosen at defensive midfield.
(5/3/2016) 2016 MLAX All-Conference
Josh Holland 2016Holland earned his award and first team recognition by scoring a team-best 32 goals during the regular season. The 6-foot-1 senior from Riverton, Utah, is second in the RMAC by scoring 3.20 goals per game and by averaging 4.40 points per game. He is one of only four players – including Sarjeant – that are in the top-10 in the conference in both goals and assists. Holland takes 9.70 shots per game to lead the RMAC and he is second in the conference by scoring 0.40 man-up goals per game.
Sarjeant made the second team after leading the RMAC in assists at 2.70 per game during the regular season. The 6-foot-1 sophomore from Carlsbad, Calif., would rank third in the NCAA with that assists average is he was eligible. Sarjeant is ninth in the conference by scoring 1.50 goals per game to place him fourth in the RMAC with an average of 4.20 points per game.
Philip Cannell and Grant Phillips were also recognized by the RMAC by being named honorable mention all-conference.
Steve Brandenburg from Colorado Mesa was named the RMAC Offensive Player of the Year and Alex Utt from CMU was the Defensive Player of the Year. Goalie of the Year honors went to Zach Weaver from Mesa and their head coach, Vince Smith, was the Coach of the Year. Connor Johnson of Adams State was chosen as the Freshman of the Year.
Westminster and Colorado Mesa shared the regular season title in the RMAC after finishing with 7-1 records. Mesa earned the right to host to inaugural RMAC Men’s Lacrosse Tournament by virtue of the tiebreaker. The tournament will be played on Friday and Saturday in Grand Junction and the Griffins will face No. 3-seed Rockhurst at 4 p.m. in the semifinals.
Westminster is a nationally recognized, comprehensive liberal arts college. With a broad array of graduate and undergraduate programs, Westminster is distinguished by its unique environment for learning. Westminster prepares students for success through active and engaged learning, real world experiences and its vibrant campus community. Westminster’s unique location, adjacent to the Rocky Mountains and to the dynamic city of Salt Lake, further enriches the college experience. For more information, visit or follow WestminsterSLC on Twitter.

Related Posts